Poptarts and Literature

24 Jan

Martin Luther King Day was glorious. Mainly, because it combined all of my favorite things: a day off work, brunch in Eastern Market, friends, and Capitol Hill Books.

This is Becky fitting in very well with the 50s diner atmosphere. It was my first experience at Ted’s Bulletin, and it was quite enjoyable. The menus look like old newspapers, and I had a homemade poptart, poached eggs, sausage, and coffee for breakfast. So I was a happy customer, despite the poor service.

Leigh is most likely pointing out a good murder story here. I will always associate her with mystery novels. I can’t help it. I grew up with her.

After brunch we went to Capitol Hill Books. I think it is safe to say that it is one of my favorite places in DC. For the obvious reason that it is a bookstore, yes, but also because the owner is a dry, sarcastic, outspoken man who clearly loves what he does. He has little notes places all around the store with his own personal commentary on life, the books he sells, and you.

“Popular with your demographic!” It really doesn’t get much funnier than that. And it makes me want to buy a book. Which I did.

Upon Leigh’s recommendation, I bought The Secret Adversary. I am excited about reading it. For some reason, I managed to live this long without reading an Agatha Christie novel.

I also like the fact that when you walk into the store, you feel like you are drowning in books. It’s so cozy! And I want to live there.

There are even books in the bathroom.

His one-sentence book commentaries made us laugh. Classic.

And that is that day in nutshell. Pretty perfect, if you ask me.

3 Responses to “Poptarts and Literature”

  1. Celeste January 24, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I just found you via Jenni’s blog! So cute! What an amazing little bookstore!

    • jcondc January 25, 2011 at 1:06 am #

      I love Jenni! Thanks so much for stopping by :).

  2. Jenni Austria Germany January 25, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    as if i didn’t already want to go to DC….

Leave a comment